Walter M. Whitehouse Lectureship in Radiology

Dr. Whitehouse
Dr. Walter Whitehouse

Walter M. Whitehouse succeeded Hodges as chairman and was viewed as a kind and gentle leader, well-liked by the faculty and loyal to the institution. He obtained his education at the University of Michigan and, after his training at the university hospital, joined the faculty in 1952. He had expertise in pulmonary radiology but was also active in gastrointestinal and obstetric radiology. He clarified the proper use of biliary contrast agents, advocated chest film surveys and recognized the radiation hazards of obstetric radiography. He was elected president of the Society of Chairmen of Academic Radiology Departments in 1975 and was a founding member of the Society of Gastrointestinal Radiologists, of which he was elected president in 1977.

In Memoriam

We were all saddened by the death of Dr. Walter M. Whitehouse on October 9, 1985. Dr. Whitehouse obtained his education from the University of Michigan and completed his training at the University Hospital. He joined the faculty in 1952 and was appointed professor of radiology in 1963 and department chairman in 1965, a position he held until 1979. He retired as emeritus professor in 1982 but remained actively involved in the programs of the department and medical center.

Early in his career, he became recognized for his expertise in pulmonary, gastrointestinal, and obstetrical radiology. He represented the medical center as consultant to the university’s Institute of Industrial Health and to the Radiation Effects Research Foundation, Hiroshima-Nagasaki, Japan. He was elected to the presidency of three prestigious societies: the Michigan Radiologic Society, the Society of Gastrointestinal Radiologists, and the Society of Chair- men of Academic Radiology Departments. He pioneered the proper use of biliary contrast agents and the use of chest film surveys, and he recognized early the radiation hazards of obstetrical radiography.

Throughout his career, Dr. Whitehouse’s professional activities were characterized by intense loyalty to the medical center and dedication to its academic excellence. He had an international reputation and served as editor of the Yearbook of Radiology for more than 10 years. Highly regarded as a teacher and counselor, he was known for his sensitivity to the needs of students. The many nationally respected academic radiologists who began their early professional development in his department recognized their debt to him in establishing the annual Walter M. Whitehouse Lectureship in 1980. He will long be remembered as an outstanding role model for countless medical students, house officers, and young faculty members.

Dr. Whitehouse is survived by his wife, Rebecca; three children, Walter, Douglas, and Mary; and three stepchildren, Mary Margaret, Anne, and Rebecca. He will be mourned by his family, friends, and many colleagues who will recollect with pride the profound influence he had on their lives.

William Martel, MD
Appearing in Radiology, March, 1986

Walter M. Whitehouse Lectureship In Radiology Invited Speakers

2021 - Aya Kamaya, M.D.

2020 - Andrew T. Trout, M.D.

2019 - M. Victoria Marx, M.D.

2018 - Melissa Hilmes, M.D.

2017 - Cary Lynn Siegel, M.D.

2016 - Shane Wells, M.D.

2015 – Sanjeev Bhalla M.D.

2014 – Vikas Gulani, M.D

2013 – Marnix Van Holsbeeck, M.D

2012 – Martin R. Prince, M.D., Ph.D

2011 – Erick Remer, M.D

2010 – Barry L. Shulkin, M.D

2009 – Barry D. Daly, M.D

2008 – Manuel L. Brown, M.D

2007 – Richard L. Wahl, M.D

2006 – Jonathan H. Burdette, M.D

2005 – Ronald M. Summers, M.D., Ph.D

2004 – Laurie A . Loevner, M.D

2003 – Thomas J. Brady, M.D

2002 – King C.P Li, M.D

2001 – Robert L. Bree, M.D

2000 – James A. Brunberg, M.D

1999 – Arthur A. De Smet, M.D

1998 – Helen C. Redman, M.D

1997 – Gary M. Glazer, M.D

1996 – Kay H. Vydareny, M.D

1995 – W. Dennis Foley, M.D

1994 – William M. Thompson, M.D

1993 – Thomas L. Lawson, M.D

1992 – Hideo Onitsuka, M.D

1991 – James Thrall, M.D

1990 – Harvey Neiman, M.D

1989 – Andrew Poznanski, M.D

1988 – Rosalind Troupin, M.D

1987 – Mutsumasa Takahashi, M.D

1986 – John Kirkpatrick Jr. , M.D

1985 – Theodore Keats, M.D

1984 – Joachim Seeger, M.D

1983 – Fred J. Hodges III , M.D

1982 – Edward Singleton, M.D

1981 – Melvin Figley , M.D

1980 – Alexander Margulis, M.D