Matt Mills

ABCD Study Team

What is your name? Where were you born? Where did you go to college?

Hello! My name is Matt Mills! I was born in Naples Florida but spent only 10 months in the Sunshine state, before we moved to the Novi area. I graduated from the University of Michigan with two degrees, one in History and one in Psychology in December 2021.

What interests you about the ABCD Study/research?

I am interested in working one on one with patients, learning the ins and outs of a large scale research project, and becoming more familiar with the MRI process. I think that the length of the study is a very interesting part to see how the participants change from year to year, and throughout the course of the study as well.

How long have you worked in the department and what does your work focus on / what area do you work in?

I have been on the ABCD team for about 6 months now and I work with the youths on their 5-year, 6-year, and our upcoming 7-year visits. The work is mostly administering surveys to the kids, collecting biological samples, and overseeing the MRI process during the 6-year visits.

What are your plans after ABCD (grad school, etc.)?

Right now I am focused on this my role at ABCD and my other part time job where I work in a halfway house helping people work through their substance use issues. I plan on going to grad school in the future for a master’s in Social Work or Counseling, but the whole process is very overwhelming that I haven’t made much progress in looking at what different programs have to offer!

Fun fact about yourself! What are your hobbies?

Recently my friends from high school and I have started a book club and we just finished our 4th book. It's not so much about what we are reading, but more of a way to stay in touch as 5 out of the 8 of us live outside Michigan. I also really enjoy listening to music and have probably listened to 5 albums a week for the past 7 years or so. I will also watch any sport that has a ball, but I especially like watching baseball with my dad and beating my brother in fantasy football.

Do you have any pets?

We have never owned a pet in our house for allergy reasons, but my mom once was given
a betta fish for employee appreciation. That little fish lived a pretty long life for a fish (I think). Rest In Peace Kid Rock the betta fish.

What’s your favorite food or restaurant?

I like to think that I am adventurous when it comes to food and restaurants and I’m always trying new places and different cuisines. Even if I go to the same restaurant, I want to try
different things on the menu. Recently I had a great lamb dish at Ayse’s Turkish Cafe in Ann Arbor, with a cool little pistachio dessert.