January 23, 2015

Inaugural Class of The League of Educational Excellence

On Jan. 23, 2013 at a dinner in the Omenn Atrium of the A. Alfred Taubman Biomedical Science Research Building, the Medical School paused to honor some of our most-esteemed educators with induction into The League of Educational Excellence — an honor established in 2013 to celebrate faculty who have a passion for sharing their extensive knowledge through the instruction of students in our classrooms, laboratories, and hospitals and health centers.

Many of the nearly 100 members of the first League class had been lauded previously for their teaching as recipients of the Kaiser-Permanente Awards for Excellence in Teaching or the Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education through the Dean’s Awards Program; department chairs nominated others. All inductees received a special medallion commemorating their membership in the inaugural class.

Congratulations those faculty members inducted into The League of Educational Excellence, including those from the Department of Human Genetics:

Gilbert S. Omenn, M.D., Ph.D.

Gilbert Omenn, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Computational Medicine & Bioinformatics
Professor of Human Genetics
Professor of Molecular Medicine & Genetics
Professor of Public Health, School of Public Health
Harold T. Shapiro Distinguished University Professor
Diane Robins, Ph.D.

Diane Robins, Ph.D.

Professor of Human Genetics
Research Scientist for Reproductive Sciences Program