May 20, 2016

Two faculty members with Medical School ties named Distinguished University Professors

DUPs recognize full professors for their exceptional scholarly or creative achievement, national and international reputation, and superior teaching skills

2016 Distinguished University Professors

Two University of Michigan faculty members with ties to the Medical School are two of nine campus-wide to be named Distinguished University Professors (DUPs) — one of the highest honors the U-M bestows upon its faculty.

Sally A. Camper, Ph.D., left, a professor of human genetics and internal medicine, has been named the Margery Shaw Distinguished University Professor of Human Genetics.

Alfred O. Hero III, Ph.D., right, a professor of biomedical engineering in the Department of Biomedical Engineering — a joint department between the Medical School and College of Engineering (CoE), has been named the John H. Holland Distinguished University Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. He also is the R. Jamison and Betty Williams Professor of Engineering, and a professor of electrical engineering and computer science in CoE, and a professor of statistics in the College of Literature, Sciences, and the Arts (LSA).

Established in 1947, DUPs recognize full professors for exceptional scholarly or creative achievement, national and international reputation, and superior teaching skills. Each professorship bears a name determined by the appointive professor in consultation with her or his dean.

Recently appointed DUPs are invited to give an inaugural lecture that highlights their work at the University. The lecture is typically delivered during the first or second full year of their appointments.

The other 2016 DUPs are:

Kent C. Berridge, Ph.D., James Olds Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience; professor of psychology, LSA

Robert L. Griess Jr., Ph.D., John Griggs Thompson Distinguished University Professor of Mathematics; professor of mathematics, LSA

Sharon C. Herbert, Ph.D., Charles K. Williams, II Distinguished University Professor of Classical Archaeology; professor of classical archaeology and Greek, LSA

Wallace J. Hopp, Ph.D., C.K. Prahalad Distinguished University Professor of Business and Engineering; associate dean for learning and design, and professor of technology and operations, Stephen M. Ross School of Business; professor of industrial and operations engineering, CoE

Melanie S. Sanford, Ph.D., Moses Gomberg Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry; Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and professor of chemistry, LSA

June Manning Thomas, Ph.D., Mary Frances Berry Distinguished University Professor of Urban Planning; professor of urban planning, A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning

Valerie J. Traub, Ph.D., Adrienne Rich Distinguished University Professor of English and Women's Studies; Frederick G. L. Huetwell Professor of English and Women's Studies; professor of English language and literature and professor of women’s studies, LSA