May 19, 2017

John M. Carethers, M.D., named Distinguished University Professor

DUPs recognize full professors for their exceptional scholarly or creative achievement, national and international reputation, and superior teaching skills

John M. Carethers, M.D.

Chair of Internal Medicine John M. Carethers, M.D., is one seven University of Michigan faculty campus-wide to be named Distinguished University Professors (DUPs) — one of the highest honors the U-M bestows upon its faculty.

Carethers, the John G. Searle Professor of Internal Medicine and a professor of internal medicine and human genetics, has been named the C. Richard Boland Distinguished University Professor of Internal Medicine and Human Genetics.

Established in 1947, DUPs recognize full professors for exceptional scholarly or creative achievement, national and international reputation, and superior teaching skills. Each professorship bears a name determined by the appointive professor in consultation with her or his dean.

Recently appointed DUPs are invited to give an inaugural lecture that highlights their work at the University. The lecture is typically delivered during the first or second full year of their appointments.

The other 2017 DUPs are:

Gordon L. Amidon, Ph.D., William I. Higuchi Distinguished University Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences. He also is the Charles R. Walgreen, Jr. Professor of Pharmacy and professor of pharmaceutical sciences, College of Pharmacy.

Charles L. Brooks III, Ph.D., Cyrus Levinthal Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry and Biophysics. He also is the Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Chemistry, professor of chemistry and professor of biophysics, LSA.

Mark D. Hunter, Ph.D., Earl E. Werner Distinguished University Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology. He also is professor of ecology and evolutionary biology, LSA, and professor of natural resources and environment, School of Natural Resources and Environment.

Martin E. Katz, Ph.D., Gwendolyn Koldofsky Distinguished University Professor of Music. He also is the Earl V. Moore Collegiate Professor of Music and professor of music, School of Music, Theatre & Dance.

Sidonie A. Smith, Ph.D., Lorna G. Goddison Distinguished University Professor of English and Women’s Studies. She also is the Mary Fair Croushore Professor, director of the Institute for the Humanities, and professor of English language and literature and of women's studies, LSA.

Ralph T. Yang, Ph.D., John B. Fenn Distinguished University Professor of Engineering. He also is the Dwight F. Benton Professor of Chemical Engineering and professor of chemical engineering, College of Engineering.