October 28, 2019

Five from Medical School among 36 to receive faculty awards

John Z. Ayanian, M.D., MPP, Carol R. Bradford, M.D., Mark S. Cohen, M.D., Omolola Eniola-Adefeso, Ph.D., and Anna Suk-Fong Lok, M.D., will receive their awards Oct. 30 at a private dinner in the Rackham Graduate School

Rackham Graduate School

Five faculty members with Medical School appointments are among 36 recipients campus-wide who will be honored at the annual Faculty Awards Dinner for their notable contributions in the areas of teaching, service and scholarship.

Professor of Internal Medicine John Z. Ayanian, M.D., MPP; Professor of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Carol R. Bradford, M.D.; Professor of Surgery and Pharmacology Mark S. Cohen, M.D.; Professor of Biomedical Engineering Omolola Eniola-Adefeso, Ph.D.; and Professor of Internal Medicine Anna Suk-Fong Lok, M.D., will receive their awards Oct. 30 at a private dinner in the Rackham Graduate School.

Ayanian, the Alice Hamilton Collegiate Professor of Medicine, and a professor of health management and policy in the School of Public Health and professor of public policy in the Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, is one of six recipients of a Distinguished University Professorship. He will become the Alice Hamilton Distinguished University Professor of Medicine and Healthcare Policy.

Bradford, the Medical School’s executive vice dean for academic affairs and chief academic officer for Michigan Medicine, is one of five recipients of a Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award, which honors senior faculty who consistently have demonstrated outstanding achievements in the areas of scholarly research or creative endeavors, teaching and mentoring of students and junior colleagues, service and other activities.

Cohen is one of five recipients of a Faculty Recognition Award, which honors mid-career faculty who have demonstrated remarkable contributions to the university through achievements in scholarly research or creative endeavors; excellence as a teacher, adviser and mentor; and distinguished participation in service activities of the university and elsewhere.

Eniola-Adefeso, vice chair for graduate studies in the Department of Chemical Engineering and a professor of chemical engineering and macromolecular science and engineering in the College of Engineering, is one of nine recipients of a Distinguished Diversity and Social Transformation Professorship, which honors senior faculty whose work has promoted the university’s goals around diversity, equity and inclusion.

Lok, the Alice Lohrman Andrews Research Professor of Hepatology, also is recipient of a Distinguished University Professorship. She will be the Dame Sheila Sherlock Distinguished University Professor of Hepatology and Internal Medicine

Read more about all the award recipients in The University Record.