David J. Brown, M.D.

David J. Brown, M.D.

Associate Vice President and Associate Dean for Health Equity and Inclusion
Associate Professor of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery

David J. Brown, M.D., became associate vice president and associate dean for health equity and inclusion in February 2016.

Dr. Brown is medical director of the Pediatric Otolaryngology Ambulatory Care Unit, founding member and medical director of the Pediatric Multidisciplinary Aerodigestive Clinic, and founding member and course director of the U-M Otolaryngology Essentials Simulation Boot Camp. He also directs the Otolaryngology Diversity Committee, which received a U-M Distinguished Diversity Leader Award for its monthly Diversity Lunch and Learn Series.David J. Brown, M.D., is interim associate vice president and associate dean for health equity and inclusion. An associate professor of pediatric otolaryngology in the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, he joined the Office for Health Equity and Inclusion in 2014 as director of professional development.

A member of the U-M faculty since 2011, he is member of the Society of University Otolaryngologists Ad Hoc Diversity Committee, and a U-M Global REACH faculty associate who collaborates with colleagues at Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital (KATH) in Kumasi, Ghana, to bridge otolaryngology educational, technical and research efforts between KATH and the U-M. He also is a member of the Global Tracheostomy Collaborative, which promotes quality and safety for patients with tracheostomies.

Dr. Brown attended Brown University and Harvard Medical School, where he co-chaired the Third World Caucus and the Harvard University Black Graduate Student Conference. He completed his otolaryngology-head and neck surgery residency in 2003 at the U-M and a pediatric otolaryngology fellowship in 2004 at the Children’s Hospital, Boston/Harvard. His first academic appointment was in 2004 at Johns Hopkins University where he was the associate program director of the otolaryngology residency, faculty member and student advisor for the Helen Taussig College, and winner of the George T. Nager Award for Excellence in Teaching.

He worked from 2008-11 at the Medical College of Wisconsin, where he won the Otolaryngology Faculty Teaching Award. He has been honored among the Best Doctors in America since 2009.