Department Chairs

Under the Medical School Bylaws, departments are the primary organizational unit and the department chairs are the leaders responsible for maintaining a sustainable financial structure and a collegial environment that supports the mission-driven activities of its faculty. In addition to the department-specific responsibilities, the chairs work collaboratively as a group to provide advice and support for major school-wide initiatives. Examples of their leadership activities include the successful purchase of the North Campus Research Complex, and oversight of the U-M Medical Group.

At the U-M Medical School, department chairs are typically appointed for five-year terms through a careful process that culminates in a request for approval by the University’s Board of Regents. Chair reappointments are determined by the dean based upon an individual’s performance as a leader and team member, through successful implementation of a department-specific strategic plan, and by a survey of the department’s faculty.

Basic Science Departments


Biological Chemistry
Phyllis I. Hanson, M.D., Ph.D. 

Biomedical Engineering
Mary-Ann Mycek, Ph.D.

Cell and Developmental Biology
Pierre A. Coulombe, Ph.D.

Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics
Brian D. Athey, Ph.D.

Human Genetics
Anthony Antonellis, Ph.D.

Learning Health Sciences
Charles P. Friedman, Ph.D. 

Microbiology and Immunology
Bethany B. Moore, Ph.D.

Molecular and Integrative Physiology
Daniel E. Michele, Ph.D.

Lori L. Isom, Ph.D.


Clinical Departments


George A. Mashour, M.D., Ph.D.

Cardiac Surgery
Gorav Ailawadi, M.D., MBA

Christopher K. Bichakjian, M.D.

Emergency Medicine
Robert W. Neumar, M.D., Ph.D.

Family Medicine
Phillip E. Rodgers, M.D.

Internal Medicine
Raymond L. Yung, M.B., Ch.B. (interim)

Dawn O. Kleindorfer, M.D.

Aditya S. Pandey, M.D.

Obstetrics and Gynecology
Dee E. Fenner, M.D.

Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
Shahzad I. Mian, M.D. (interim)

Orthopaedic Surgery
Michelle S. Caird, M.D.

Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Mark E.P. Prince, M.D.

Charles A. Parkos, M.D., Ph.D.

Donna M. Martin, M.D., Ph.D.

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Edward A. Hurvitz, M.D.

Gregory W. Dalack, M.D.

Radiation Oncology
Daniel T. Chang, M.D.

Vikas Gulani, M.D., Ph.D.

Justin B. Dimick, M.D., MPH

Ganesh S. Palapattu, M.D.