Kaiser Permanente Excellence in Teaching

The Kaiser Award is the most prestigious teaching award given by the Medical School. 

The Office of Medical Student Education in the Medical School solicits nominations by faculty and students for the Kaiser Permanente Awards. Made possible by a grant from the Kaiser Foundation Hospitals, it consists of an honorarium of $5,000 and a certificate which is presented to each awardee at the Graduation Luncheon. Two awards are given each year — one for pre-clinical and one for clinical teaching. Faculty and students are asked to consider nominating those outstanding teachers who have demonstrated superior teaching ability; accessibility or willingness to help students more than other teachers; enthusiasm and the ability to generate student enthusiasm; the ability to serve as an exemplary role model; and other traits nominators deem to be important.

After nominations are solicited, those faculty members who are nominated by a number of colleagues or students, or who have particularly compelling nominations, are asked to complete secondary applications. The Medical School Awards Committee will review these applications, select finalists, and make recommendations to the Dean and the Executive Committee for final endorsement.


Eligibility — Any faculty member who teaches in the pre-clinical setting (can include classroom — in-person or online — labs, simulation teaching in any phase of the curriculum) may be nominated for the pre-clinical award. Any faculty member who teaches in the clinical setting (can include teaching in the clinical setting in any phase of the curriculum) may be nominated for the clinical award. If a faculty member teaches throughout the four-year curriculum, they may be considered in either or both categories. Please note that former award winners are not eligible for re-nomination (see list below) for either award.

Nomination Process begins on December 19, 2022:

Please submit your nomination electronically by January 27, 2023 to Elaine Holleran. Please include the following:

  • Person Being Nominated
  • Courses Taught (if applicable)
  • Person Making Nomination and Their Email Address
  • Student Year (M1, M2, M3, M4)
  • Choose Preclinical Teaching (can include classroom — in-person or online — labs, simulation teaching in any phase of the curriculum) or Clinical Teaching (can include teaching in the clinical setting in any phase of the curriculum)
  • Please Submit a Brief Synopsis That Describes Superior Teaching Abilities and Other Reasons This Person Should Be Considered for the Kaiser Award

For questions about the nomination process, email Elaine Hollarin or call 734-647-2861.

Past Award Winners

Pre-clinical Award

2023: Emily Abdoler, M.D.
2022: Cornelius James, M.D.
2021: Andrew Tai, M.D., Ph.D.
2020: Laura Mariani, M.D.
2019: Madelyn Lew, M.D.
2018: Scott R. Owens, M.D.
2017: Jennifer N. Stojan, M.D., MHPE
2016: Beverly M. Yashar, Ph.D., M.S.
2015: Audrey F. Seasholtz, Ph.D.
2014: Seetha U. Monrad, M.D.
2013: Rachel Lypson Glick, M.D.
2012: Michael Hortsch, Ph.D.
2011: Kim Eagle, M.D.
2010: J. Matthew Velkey, Ph.D.
2009: Thomas H. Sisson, M.D.
2008: Rebecca W. Van Dyke, M.D.
2007: Sun-Kee Kim, Ph.D.
2006: Roger J. Grekin, M.D..
2005: Thomas D. Gelehrter, M.D.
2004: Ameed Raoof, M.D., Ph.D.
2003: N. Cary Engleberg, M.D.
2002: Arno Kumagai, M.D.
2001: Louis D’Alecy, Ph.D.
2000: Thomas R. Gest, Ph.D.
1999: Michael D. Jibson, M.D., Ph.D.
1998: David C. Dawson, Ph.D.
1997: Bruce M. Carlson, M.D., Ph.D.
1996: Andrew J. Zweifler, M.D.
1995: Andrew Flint, M.D.
1994: Paul A. Weinhold, Ph.D.
1993: Francis S. Collins, M.D.
1992: Terry J. Bergstrom, M.D.
1991: Don Lowell Fisher, Ph.D.
1990: Marshal Shlafer, Ph.D.
1989: Kent J. Johnson, M.D.
1988: Walter A. Castelli, Ph.D.
1987: Frances E. Bull, M.D.
1986: Sarah Winans Newman, Ph.D.
1985: Fedor Medzihradsky, Ph.D.
1984: William Burkel, Ph.D.
1983: Garth W. Jones, Ph.D.
1982: Roy A. Glover, Ph.D.
1981: Arthur Vander, M.D.
1980: Irwin Goldstein, Ph.D.
1979: Thomas Oelrich, Ph.D.
1978: Gerald Abrams, M.D.
1977: Roland Hiss, M.D.

Clinical Award

2023: Aleksandr Belakovskiy, M.D.
2022: Lauren Heidemann, M.D., MHPE
2021: Gifty Kwakye, M.D.
2020: Daniel T. Cronin, M.D.
2019: Michael P. Lukela, M.D.
2018: Sarah E. Hartley, M.D.
2017: Zachary N. London, M.D.
2016: Vineet Chopra, M.D., M.Sc.
2015: Maya M. Hammoud, M.D.
2014: Andrew Barnosky, D.O.
2013: Jonathan D. Trobe, M.D.
2012: Michael J. Englesbe, M.D.
2011: Sandro Cinti, M.D.
2010: Rajesh S. Mangrulkar, M.D.
2009: Robert W. Lash, M.D.
2008: Vincent M. Cimmino, M.D.
2007: Kenneth J. Pituch, M.D.
2006: James F. Peggs, M.D.
2005: Gilbert R. Upchurch, Jr., M.D.
2004: Sanjay Saint, M.D., M.P.H.
2003: Douglas Gelb, M.D. Ph.D.
2002: Michael Shea, M.D.
2001: Paul Fine, M.D.
2000: Lisa M. Colletti, M.D.
1999: Psychiatry Mel L. Barclay, M.D.
1998: John T. Santinga, M.D.
1997: Mark A. McQuillan, M.D.
1996: David S. Rosen, M.D.
1995: James C. Sisson, M.D.
1994: Cyril M. Grum, M.D.
1993: Robert H. Bartlett, M.D.
1992: Robert A. Green, M.D.
1991: Gerald B. Zelenock, M.D.
1990: Steven R. Ramsburgh, M.D.
1989: Richard D. Judge, M.D.
1988: Patricia O'Connor, M.D.
1987: Ralph Rabinovitch, M.D.
1986: Hsi-Yen Liu, M.D.
1985: Robert C. Kelsch, M.D.
1984: James E. Rasmussen, M.D.
1983: Donita B. Sullivan, M.D.
1982: Carol A. Kauffman, M.D.
1981: Ananias C. Diokno, M.D.
1980: Sara E. Walker, M.D.
1979: Faith Fitzgerald, M.D.
1978: Paul Kissner, M.D., Gerald Rigg, M.D.
1977: Errol E. Erlandson, M.D.