Innovation & Commercialization

This award recognizes a faculty member or group of faculty members who have developed a new research method, technology or innovative service that will radically improve or transform patient health. 

The Medical School Dean’s Office is soliciting nominations for the Innovation and Commercialization Award. The work of the researcher(s) should exemplify the process of accelerating ideas, insights and technologies from the research enterprise out of the university setting via industry partnerships, start-up companies, or other commercial routes. This award carries a $5,000 discretionary academic support price that will be given to the faculty member or shared by a group.

Examples of such innovations might include technologies that have achieved major milestones through partnership with industry, those that have resulted in successful start-up companies, or technologies that are on the path to successful licenses with existing companies. The common theme is that the research is accelerating the possible impact of a technology or service on patient care.

This two-stage selection process begins with nominations being submitted to the selection committee for review. A final list of recommended awardees will be given to the Dean of the Medical School, who will then make the final selection.


Nominees must be faculty of the University of Michigan Medical School. Nominations are welcome from faculty, staff, and/or students (self-nominations also permitted), and must include the following in a single PDF file:

  1. A statement from the nominator regarding the nominee’s new innovation, technology or service and its impact on patient care.
  2. Three letters of support evaluating the importance of the innovation. At least one letter must be from external individuals (outside U-M).
  3. A copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae

Nominations for the Innovation and Commercialization Award can be made using the Medical School's Competition Space website.

The nomination deadline is Friday, May 24, 2019.

Past Award Winners

2019: William D. Chey, M.D. & Jonathan L. Eliason, M.D.
2018: Daniel A. Orringer, M.D. & Glenn E. Green, M.D., AND David A. Zopf, M.D., M.S. (joint)
2017: Shaomeng Wang, Ph.D. & Kevin R. Ward, M.D.
2016: Israel Hodish, M.D., Ph.D.
2015: James A. Shayman, M.D.

From 2001-06, the Medical School sponsored a similar honor — the Innovations Award — to recognize faculty who had developed an innovation that radically improved or transformed clinical outcomes, educational processes, or research processes.

Past Winners of Innovations Award (2001-06)

2006: Larry Antonuk, Ph.D.
2005: Lazar Greenfield, M.D. & Jonathan Rubin, M.D., Ph.D.
2004: Edward McGuire, M.D.
2003: Robert Bartlett, M.D.
2002: Samir Hanash, M.D., Ph.D.
2001: James R. Baker, Jr., M.D.