Our History

In 2019, the Department of Urology began the celebration of 100 years of urologic care at the University of Michigan. As we embark on this commemoration, we look back on our distinguished history and ahead to a future of promise in research, education and patient care.

While much has changed in the last 100 years, some things remain the same, including our commitment to excellence in patient care, research and education. Explore the highlights of the history of our Department, beginning with the appointment of Hugh Cabot, a urologic surgeon and chair of the surgery department, to our most recent leader, Ganesh Palapattu, MD, FACS.

Urology's history at the University of Michigan dates to the arrival of the first faculty member in 1919. In 1930, we became a section of the U-M Department of Surgery. In 2001, we became an independent department. The following chair era profiles highlight the era and accomplishments of our leaders in urology.

Chair Era Timeline