Shahzad Mian Receives 2017 Straatsma Award

Shahzad Mian, M.D. (right) teaching 2nd year resident Stephen Armenti, M.D., Ph.D.
Shahzad Mian, M.D. (right) teaching 2nd year resident Stephen Armenti, M.D., Ph.D.

Shahzad Mian, M.D., director of Kellogg’s ophthalmology residency program, received the 2017 Straatsma Award for Excellence in Resident Education from the American Academy of Ophthalmology and the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology.

Established in 2003, the Straatsma Award is the highest honor the American ophthalmology community bestows on its educational leaders. It recognizes a combination of commitment, academic contributions to education and innovation on a  national level.

Dr. Mian, who also holds the Terry J. Bergstrom Collegiate Professorship for Resident Education in Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, joined the Kellogg faculty in 2002. He completed an ophthalmology residency at the Wills Eye Institute of  Thomas Jefferson University and a fellowship in cornea and refractive surgery at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, Harvard Medical School. 

He has served as Kellogg’s residency director since 2004. Here he received the Bergstrom Faculty  Teaching Award in 2003 and 2012 and the Anthony Adamis Award for Outstanding Research. From the American Academy of Ophthalmology, he has earned the 2007 Leadership Development Program Award, a 2009 Achievement Award and a  2016 Senior Achievement Award.

He is senior medical director of Eversight Michigan (formerly Michigan Eye Bank), co-chair of the accreditation board of the Eye Bank Association of America, a member of the Residency Review Committee for Ophthalmology and president of the Program Director’s Council for the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology. 

Widely respected for his views on the objectives of residency training and his concern for the welfare of residents, Dr. Mian said he is “deeply humbled and honored to have received this award.”