Headache Medicine Fellowship

The University of Michigan Headache Medicine Fellowship is a 1-year United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS) accredited program for the diagnosis and treatment of head and face pain.  Training will include the key components of the neurological exam and associated pain and headache syndromes.  Fellows should be able to manage such problems, even when complicated by the presence of other symptoms, complex medical illness, and psychological distress. The Fellow will receive didactics in migraine, cervicogenic headache, cluster headache, and other headache topics. 


To provide an appropriate atmosphere and opportunity for fellows to become consultants and practitioners in Headache Medicine, This will encompass a balance between clinical and educational needs.


The program includes:

  • Headache & Neuropathic Pain Clinic meetings
  • Multidisciplinary Pain Board Meetings rounds
  • Grand Rounds
  • Didactic
  • Journal club meeting 


The program requires the fellows to participate in The University of Michigan Neuroscience Day. Neuroscience Day is an annual poster and platform session where neurology and neurosurgery residents and fellows present their scholarly works.

Apply for Fellowship

Headache Medicine Fellowship application requirements:  CV, personal statement, 3 letters of recommendation (one of which is from a program director or chair), USMLE and/or COMLEX transcripts, and an application.   Resident applicants must have completed an ACGME accredited residency program in Neurology.  Training in other specialties will be considered by request.  All applications must be received by January 30th for the following fellowship year. 

Regarding visa issues, you must be one of the following:  a US citizen or a permanent resident (green card holder).    

For more information or to apply for a position in the fellowship, please contact Sennettra Gilliam at 734-232-9039 or at scsgill@med.umich.edu.

Headache Medicine Fellowship Program Director

Wade Cooper, DO

Clinical Associate Professor in Neurology
Clinical Associate Professor in Anesthesiology
Director, Headache & Neuropathic Pain