General Medicine's history is rich in clinical excellence, scientific breakthroughs, and the education and training of generations of medical professionals.    

General Medicine Clinical History

  • 2001 – Dr. Robert Ernst joins the division. He later becomes Senior Associate Chief of the Ambulatory Care Program and Assistant Chair of the Academic Primary Care Program in 2016.
  • 2003 – Dr. Scott Flanders named Director, Hospital Medicine Program, oversees the inpatient care of patients on non-academic medical services, eventually growing the program to accommodate over 50% of all medical inpatient care.
  • 2005 – Dr. Sanjay Saint creates the Ann Arbor VA Medical Center/U-M Patient Safety Enhancement Program (PSEP) designed to improve the quality of patient care by conducting research that focuses on methods of avoiding or preventing adverse patient outcomes or injuries arising from healthcare processes, leading to the creation of national patient-safety guidelines. The results of his research is adopted internationally.
  • 2006 – Dr. Leo Greenstone becomes Associate Chief of Staff for Ambulatory Care at the Ann Arbor VA Healthcare System, ushering in a new approach to outpatient healthcare management.
  • 2012 – Dr. Connie Standiford named Executive Medical Director, Ambulatory Care Services.
  • 2014 – Northville Health Center becomes the latest general medicine clinical site to open, raising the number of satellite clinical locations to 8 from the first off-campus site opened in 1990 at Briarwood. The combined outpatient sites currently serve over 165,000 general medicine patient visits annually.
  • 2016 – Dr. David Spahlinger, named as the first President of the University of Michigan Clinical Enterprise, oversees all clinical programs and facilities at the university.

General Medicine Research History

  • 1988 – Dr. Laurence F. McMahon, Jr., is appointed Chief of the Division of General Medicine, with a total of 26 faculty, including eight Veterans Affairs faculty members, three ED faculty, and one fellow.
  • 1993 – Drs. Laurence F. McMahon and Joel Howell are named Co-Directors of the new Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholars Program at U-M, a program that will endure for more than 20 years producing hundreds of scholars trained in quantitative and qualitative research methods who have gone on to be national leaders in health and health care.
  • 1996 – Dr. Rodney Hayward directs the VA Health Services Research and Development Field Program, which later evolves into the Ann Arbor VA Center for Clinical Management Research (CCMR) under the leadership of Dr. Eve Kerr. The program grows from a small group of investigators with two VA-funded projects to its current status as an elite health services research center with over 40 investigators, 150 staff, and annual extramural funding of over $18 million.
  • 1999 – Development of the Value-Based Insurance Design (V-BID) concept by Dr. A. Mark Fendrick, designed to increase consumer adherence with recommended care guidelines by aligning consumer out-of-pocket costs with the potential clinical benefit of certain health services and medications. V-BID would later be included in the Affordable Care Act and Dr. Fendrick would be elected to the National Academy of Medicine.
  • 2000 – Dr. Peter Ubel becomes the Director, Center for Behavioral and Decision Sciences, later evolving into the Center for Bioethics and Social Sciences in Medicine, a multidisciplinary unit integrating bioethics with key social science disciplines.
  • 2011 – Dr. Kenneth Langa is appointed the Associate Director of the Health and Retirement Survey, a national longitudinal survey of aging and the largest extramurally funded project at the University of Michigan.
  • 2012 – A $13.7 million dollar P01 Program Project Award from the NCI is awarded to Dr. Steven Katz as the PI of research designed to address the challenges of individualizing treatments for patients with early stage breast cancer. 
  • 2012 –  Dr. John Ayanian, a member of the National Academy of Medicine, became the inaugural Director of the Institute of Health Care Policy and Innovation.

General Medicine Education History

  • 1976 – Dr. Jeoffrey Stross, originator of seminal contributions on the “educationally influential physician” becomes the first Chief of the Division of General Medicine. Over the next 12 years, Dr. Stross goes on to establish  the 1◦ care training program, and develops the forerunner to modern resident ambulatory care clinics.
  • 2007 – Dr. James Woolliscroft, Lyle C. Roll Professor of Medicine, appointed Dean of the University of Michigan Medical School, later appointed to the National Academy of Medicine. 
  • 2011 – Dr. Michele Heisler joins the newly created Global REACH program as Associate Director, overseeing the international initiative of the UMMS to lead in developing individuals and programs to improve healthcare through collaborative partnerships in low- and middle-income countries.