Awards & Recognition

The Michigan Medicine Comprehensive Pancreas Program will be launched in the fall of 2018.

National Pancreas Foundation – Center of Excellence

The National Pancreas Foundation awarded Michigan Medicine's Comprehensive Pancreas Program as a Center of Excellence in Pancreatitis - the only such program in Michigan.

   National Pancreas Foundation

Characteristics of NPF Centers of Excellence in Pancreatitis


  • Reduce inconsistencies in care of patients with pancreatic disease


  • Provide the best possible care and outcomes for patients to improve patient quality of life
  • Raise awareness and understanding through educational programs

Centers of Excellence

  • > 50 centers nationally - only 1 center in Michigan
  • Meet specified criteria and complete an extensive audit
  • Show focus and excellence in key areas
  • Meet institutional standards
  • Support programs in smoking and alcohol
  • Offer clinical trials
  • Contribute to a national patient registry

University of Michigan – Clinical Excellence Society

The Clinical Excellence Society recognizes in an ongoing fashion those faculty who, by their peers and their division, exude and demonstrate clinical excellence towards their patients and colleagues.

Leslie Aldrich, MD
Michelle Anderson, MD, MS
William Chey, MD
Hari Conjeevaram, MD, MS
John Del Valle, MD
Matthew DiMagno, MD
Grace Elta, MD
Robert Fontana, MD
William Hasler, MD
Peter Higgins, MD, PhD, MS
Anna Lok, MD
Michael Rice, MD
Grace Su, MD
Erik-Jan Wamsteker, MD

American Gastroenterological Association

Julius Friedenwald Medal

Established in 1941, this recognition prize honors an individual who has contributed significantly to AGA and has made lifelong contributions to the field of gastroenterology. This is the highest honor bestowed upon an AGA member.

Chung Owyang, MD

American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy

Rudolf V. Schindler Award

ASGE highest honor is granted periodically to a member whose accomplishments in endoscopic research, teaching, and/or service to ASGE exemplify the standards and traditions of Rudolf V. Schindler, MD, founder of the American Gastroscopic Club, the forerunner of ASGE.

Grace Elta, MD

Best Doctor Award

Funding Awards

Research dedicated to pancreatic conditions is supported by over $10 million dollars in active funding (2017-2018) and over $21 million in funding the last 5 years (2013-2018). Funding is predominantly from the NIH but also includes:

  • American Association for Cancer Research
  • American Cancer Society
  • American Gastroenterological Association (AGA)
  • American Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (ASGE)
  • American Pancreatic Association (APA)
  • Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
  • Elsa U Pardee Foundation
  • Foundation for Pancreatic Research
  • Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research (MICHR)
  • National Pancreas Foundation (NPF)
  • Sidney Kimmel Foundation
  • US Department of Defense (DOD)